How Can a Louisiana Car Accident Lawyer Prove Distracted Driving?

Despite the numerous public service announcements about the dangers of distracted driving, people still do it all the time. We know that it’s not smart to text and drive. Yet 80% of all drivers polled admitted to doing it at least three times a week.

When people don’t pay attention to the road, they get into accidents. It’s a fact. Thousands of people are hurt or killed every year in this country because of distracted driving. And, it’s not just texting and driving that poses a danger. There are all sorts of distracted driving, including:

  • Eating
  • Talking to other passengers
  • Watching a video on a cell phone or device
  • Entering information into a GPS
  • Putting on makeup
  • Reading

If someone is doing any of things while behind the wheel, they’re liable to get into a car crash. You could be the innocent person hurt in that car accident. If this happens, you’re going to need a good lawyer. That’s why you should contact a Louisiana car accident lawyer immediately after your car accident.

Your lawyer will work hard to prove that the defendant was driving while distracted. He’ll work hard to get you the compensation you deserve.

Your Louisiana Car Accident Lawyer Knows the Law

Every state has laws against distracted driving. At a minimum, they have cell phone laws. And, by default, general traffic laws require that people pay attention to the road. Most states simply issue a fine if you’re caught texting or driving. If they spot you doing anything else that can be distracting, they can cite you for careless driving.

Louisiana has laws that are a bit stricter than most other states. This is a good thing. It means people will be less likely to do something that causes an accident. And people like you won’t have to worry so much about getting hit by a distracted driver.

In Louisiana, it’s illegal to use a cell phone or hand-held device while driving. If someone’s caught doing this, they face the following penalties:

  • For the first offense, you face fines of up to $500
  • Subsequent offenses carry fines of up to $1,000 and a 60-day suspension of your driver’s license
  • If you get into an accident while using your phone or hand-held device, the fines go up to $2,000 and your suspension can be twice as long

Louisiana law prohibits the following actions while behind the wheel:

  • Write, send or read any sort of message or content
  • Send or read emails or texts
  • Access, post or read anything on social media
  • Use your cell phone during school hours in a school zone

Louisiana laws are much stricter than other states. Baton Rouge trial lawyers know this and will work hard to prove that the defendant was distracted driving.

Your Attorney Knows How to Prove Distracted Driving

It’s not always easy to prove that the defendant was distracted at the time of the accident. Your Louisiana trial lawyer will have to rely on different types of evidence to prove this. Some of this evidence includes:

  • Cell phone records showing that texts were sent or received at the time of impact
  • Eye witness statements
  • Any video camera feeds from the time of the accidents
  • Police report
  • The driver’s own statement
  • Your testimony

Keep in mind, your trial lawyer has access to things you don’t. He has the experience and connections necessary to subpoena whatever information is required to prove your case. He knows where to look for these things, and what he is and is not allowed to use in court.

Call a Louisiana Car Accident Lawyer Today

If you’re involved in a car accident, it may have been caused by distracted driving. If this is the case, your trial lawyer is going to demand that you be paid for the following:

  • Medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Property damage
  • Out of pocket expenses
  • Pain and suffering

He’ll still have to prove that you were injured. And he’ll have to show that the defendant was negligent. This is why it’s important to be upfront and honest with your lawyer from the start. Don’t make his job any harder than it already is.

Call to schedule your initial consultation with a Louisiana car accident lawyer today. The consultation is free and you pay nothing until you settle your case. The defendant is going to have attorneys working for him and you should too.