Did you know that Louisiana law requires you to report a car accident with another vehicle to your insurance company within 30 days of the incident? If not, then in addition to any fines and penalties imposed by the court. You could also be subject to additional fines from your insurer.
After your accident, sometimes insurance companies want to pay as little as possible. For this reason, you need to have an experienced personal injury lawyer at your side after an accident. It’s also why you want to learn more about getting your claim started as well as any legal requirements in more detail below.
Report a Car Accident
According to Louisiana state law, an accident is considered any event where there was physical contact between a driver and another object or person. Examples include rear-ending someone’s car at a stoplight. Another example may be if you crash into someone on their bike while turning right.
Whether it takes place on public property like a city street or private property, report it as soon as possible if you have damage on your vehicle or suffer injuries from the accident. That’s because if you don’t report it as soon as possible, it might be considered a hit and run.
In Louisiana filing, an accident report also makes it easier for a personal injury attorney to seek full and fair compensation for you.
Common Traffic Violations
Driving in Louisiana is a privilege, not a right. For example, if someone is caught driving without a valid driver’s license, the penalty can be court fines and possibly have the vehicle impounded. Speeding tickets, as well as other types of traffic violations like running red lights, will put the driver at risk of far more serious charges.
If a driver causes an accident while driving recklessly, the damage is done to their vehicle, your vehicle, and any possible injuries are no laughing matter. Therefore, report it to your insurance company immediately if you’ve been involved in an auto accident. Louisiana law states you have thirty days to report an accident to your insurance company.
It’s important to protect yourself if you were involved in a traffic violation where the car or people were impacted. Hiring a personal injury lawyer that specializes in your legal needs as soon as possible. The sooner your attorney has access to all pertinent information about injuries, the better it is for you.
This information will include, but not be limited to;
- Witness testimonies and medical records
- Evidence of injury extent provided after examining doctors
- Police reports
- Dashcam footage that captures video from vehicles
- Any surveillance cameras close by, and
- Report number from responding officer
You have one year from the date of your car accident to file your legal claim. All these reports and actions provide the information an attorney needs to help you get everything back together following a collision.
In Louisiana, you can lose points, pay fines, and deal with all the other consequences when you receive a moving violation. If this is the first time you are charged with a moving violation, you may not have any points added to your driving record. But, under Louisiana’s complex driving motor vehicle (DMV) system, the state can legally add points to your driving record for a number of different reasons.
If you’re dealing with a moving violation accident, the vehicle’s driver has to report the accident to DPS within 24 hours under Section 32-98. When you want to file a personal injury case, Louisiana does have a Statute of Limitations Law.
Failure to Stop
If you are involved in an accident and do not stop or knowingly fail to report it to the proper authorities, you may face criminal penalties. These penalties include but aren’t limited to paying a fine of up to $500 dollars. The maximum penalty for failing to stop is higher, depending on whether this is a first or second offense within three years.
Also, if you want to file a personal injury case, Louisiana Civil Code Article 3492 delictual actions are subject to a liberative prescription of one year.
Again, in Louisiana, if you receive a traffic ticket and are at fault in an accident, you have to report it to your insurance company. Report the accident to your agent or the insurance company as soon as possible. If you have an injury and want to file a civil claim for damages to you and your vehicle, you need an experienced trial lawyer.
If you have a terrible experience with a car thankfully, there’s one law firm that knows what to do when you need help.
Your Next Stop
You want to find an experienced trial lawyer with a proven record of success in personal injury suits if you were hurt in an accident. Babcock Personal Injury Lawyers have the experience you need with the successful legal record you want. Reach out to Babcock Personal Injury Lawyers if you need an attorney that levels their experience to win positive results for you.
Our firm has seen it all and wants to help you get the best possible outcome after you report a car accident. From mild fender benders to multi-car collisions, we’re here for you when life throws a curveball! Reach out to Babcock Personal Injury Lawyers if you need experts that have seen it all.
You never know when the worst will happen, and you’ll be involved in an accident. Babcock Personal Injury Lawyers know how to fight for your best possible outcome. Start by clicking here–your consultation is FREE of charge!